Archive | July 6, 2011

The Pearl of the Soul of the World (Darkangel Trilogy #3) by Meredith Ann Pierce

The Pearl of the Soul of the World (Darkangel Trilogy, #3)

 
 
 
Paperback, 256 pages
Published February 1st 2008
 by Little, Brown Young Readers(first published November 1st 1990)
series
 
With the aid of a shimmering pearl, Aeriel battles the White Witch to free her husband Irrylath and discover her own destiny. Now in paperback for the first time, here is the triumphant conclusion of the classic Darkangel Trilogy.
 
I read this book like someone watching a car accident you know it is horrible but you can’t look away. This was just one of those series that had potential but never reached it. I usually do not waste my time on books I don’t like but the relationship between Aeriel and Irrylath just sucked me in. This book seemed to be chasing its tail at every turn. There was never any type of ending for Aeriel she ended the book basically were she started “trapped”. I am not sure where the author was going with this but I don’t think she hit her mark, at least not for me. I would say that I am disappointed in the book but I didn’t have any expectations as far as ending or plot I just had to read until the end. I love sci-fi but this was not my type of book at all and the sci-fi in this book was just not good. I will say I have seen some of the other reviews and some people love it, that is why I feel if you are interested try it out  for yourself.

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse #11) by Charlaine Harris

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11)

Published May 3rd 2011 by Penguin Group (USA)
setting
Louisiana (United States)
 

With her knack for being in trouble’s way, Sookie witnesses the firebombing of Merlotte’s, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. Sookie suspects otherwise, but her attention is divided when she realizes that her lover Eric Northman and his “child” Pam are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, Sookie is drawn into the plot-which is much more complicated than she knows…

If you read this series you already know how good it is. I don’t watch the HBO channel but I do watch the videos when they are released to the store. I have to say that I am one of the few people I know who like the books better than the show. With that said, this book was fantastic! It tied up the loose ends from past books and of course left a whole new set of questions. All I can say without giving too much away is that Eric and Sookie do not have it easy and the road to happy bliss has hit a huge speed bump that they may not be able to recover from.