Vanish by Sophie Jordan

Vanish (Firelight, #2)

Hardcover
 304 pages
Expected publication:
September 6th 2011
by HarperTeen

To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda did the unthinkable: She betrayed the most closely-guarded secret of her kind. Now she must return to the protection of her pride knowing she might never see Will again—and worse, that because his mind has been shaded, Will’s memories of that fateful night and why she had to flee are gone.

Back home, Jacinda is greeted with hostility and must work to prove her loyalty for both her sake and her family’s. Among the few who will even talk to her are Cassian, the pride’s heir apparent who has always wanted her, and her sister, Tamra, who has been forever changed by a twist of fate. Jacinda knows that she should forget Will and move on—that if he managed to remember and keep his promise to find her, it would only endanger them both. Yet she clings to the hope that someday they will be together again. When the chance arrives to follow her heart, will she risk everything for love?

I was so thrilled to get this book from Netgalley that I was jumping and screaming for joy when I saw it in my mail box.   I loved the first book and I can’t tell you how much I have been pining away for this one.  I was a little sad that it is shorter than the hard copy that is coming out but, that just means I will have to preorder it to make sure that I have it as soon as it comes out so that I don’t have to wait.  This series is to me what Twilight was when it first came out before the Breaking Dawn fiasco.   I believe it has the potential to be as big of hit as  Twilight if not bigger.   Sophie Jordan is an amazing author and the way she captures the very  heart and soul of strong young women makes you forget that the book is even paranormal.  

 

 Jacinda is not some love-sick weak girl who will just lay there and take the crap that is thrown at her.   She knows what she wants and what is right and she is willing to fight for it even if it goes against what she was raised to believe.   I will say that Jacinda is still my favorite character but Tamara is definitely growing on me because I have seen her in a new light.   She may be one of the strongest character in this series, for just being able to endure all that she has had to, because of living in her twins’ shadow and being consider a defunct Draki.  As far as the males go I was team Will all the way, but after seeing Cassian and the love and faith  that he has in Jacinda even though she is breaking his heart has definitely swayed me toward him.   I also love the way he just sits and waits for her to come to the realization that they are ment for each other without trying to pressure her.   He even tolerates the fact of  Will being around in the hopes that she will get over him and see what has always been right in front of her, which is him. 

 

 I believe that Sophie Jordan has just started to reveal the depth  that these character have and I really hope that she decides to extend the series.  I know that some series are dragged out to long, but I  feel that her imagination is just phenomenal and her writing style really sucks you in.   I feel that if she continues the series past a trilogy it would still be just as amazing as the first books in the series and I know I for one would be ecstatic.

Leave a comment