My Boyfriend Bites by Dan Jolley, Alitha E. Martinez (Illustrator)

My Boyfriend Bites (My Boyfriend Is a Monster)

Library Binding
Pages 132
Published
April 1st 2011
by  Graphic Universe
   Vanessa Shingle has a knack for choosing boyfriends who need fixing–the juvenile delinquent, the school cheat, the slacker….Then she meets Jean-Paul McClellan–the perfect project! Vanessa is determined to find out Jean-Paul’s story. Why would such a smart hunk waste his life as a janitor? She drags her best friend Stork on a nighttime mission to learn more. What she Vanessa Shingle has a knack for choosing boyfriends who need fixing–the juvenile delinquent, the school cheat, the slacker….Then she meets Jean-Paul McClellan–the perfect project! Vanessa is determined to find out Jean-Paul’s story. Why would such a smart hunk waste his life as a janitor? She drags her best friend Stork on a nighttime mission to learn more. What she sees makes her blood run cold. Suddenly, Vanessa’s little New Mexico town is overrun by vampires–obnoxious ones at that. And Vanessa seems to be their target. Is Jean-Paul one of them? If so, why is he being so nice to her? When he talks about prophecies and legacies and Romania, what’s he really up to?

Vanessa finds herself with a real situation to fix–and she stakes her life on being able to rise to the challenge.

I am a closet fan of anima! I never really tell people I like it because there are so many varied opinions on the subject and I  just don’t really care what other people fill about it.  I like it and that is all I really need to know.  I am a huge fan of the art and I especially like when some of my favorite books spin-off into graphic novels because then you get to see what the author envisioned the characters to look like.   Graphic novels are a great way to kill some time because they are usually very short and the stories are good most of the time.    I like the fact that I am not having to figure out the plots and its never to dramatic sometimes my brain just need a rest and this is a great way to relax and just have a little fun.
This book is a Buffy meets Twilight kind of book.  Vanessa is a little like Bella from Twilight with the fact that she is so trying to fix people.  Also, it is Buffy-ish because she is descended from VanHelsing  and is to be some kind of savior. I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to understand this novel because it was third in the series but it was a stand alone.  I think the series is more about dating different monsters than it is about a certain couple.   So, over all this was a really cute and fun graphic novel just the kind I like read when I am  wanting to read but nothing heavy or to thought-provoking.
Leave a Reply

