Persuasion by Jane Austen

Persuasion

Kindle Edition
292 pages
Published  October 4th 2009
by Public Domain Books (first published 1818)

Written at the end of the Napoleonic Wars, Persuasion is a tale of love, heartache and the determination of one woman as she strives to reignite a lost love. Anne Elliot is persuaded by her friends and family to reject a marriage proposal from Captain Wentworth because he lacks in fortune and rank. More than seven years later, when he returns home from the Navy, Anne realises she still has strong feelings for him, but Wentworth only appears to have eyes for a friend of Anne’s. Moving, tender, but intrinsically ‘Austen’ in style, with its satirical portrayal of the vanity of society in eighteenth-century England, Persuasion celebrates enduring love and hope.

BOOK CONTAINS:  Romance, Drama and Deceit

I recently listened to this on audio and I can say that I love it just as much as the first time I read.  This book never gets old for me and is one of my absolute favorites of Mrs. Austen’s novels.  I never get tired of the passion that Anne feels for Frederick and the absolute refusal of Frederick to accept that he is still in love with Anne.  The drama and the struggle is so prefect that it draws me back to it as one of my go to books for life.

As far as the audio is concerned  I liked this narrator but she wasn’t my favorite.   I definitely will listen to this version again but I won’t give up on reading the book for the audio.  The audio is great for when you are pressed for time and you just need to get you Austen fix.  I do prefer the book version which is funny because I hardly ever prefer one over the other.  There is just something about holding her books in your hands and rereading a favorite scene over and over again.   I know that I will never get tired of reading this book.

As far as  giving a review of the book and its contents for people it is a little silly with all the movies and books out there.  Most every one knows what it is about but for those of you who don’t it is  a love story.  It is about two people who although are madly in love are separated by her family.   The family does not approve of him and persuades her to leave him.   Fast forward several years later and the stories finds them thrown together due to family connection.   Soon they  are  having to deal with those old unresolved feelings for each.  Although neither discuss these feeling it is clear they are both struggling with them in silence.   This leads to many misunderstands and very difficult situations for these to people.  In the end there is  resolution but not without a lot of bumps and bruises along the way.   I love the characters in this one more so than any of her other works because there really isn’t a bad guy or even a hero in this one.  This is just more of a realistic view on people and the misconception people have of each.  Also, it is a look at the human character as with the cousin who is all about his own interests.

I am sure when Austen wrote these books she didn’t know the impact that she was going to have on generations to come.   I for one have been so taken with these books and wish that she could have lived longer to write even more of these fabulous novels.  If for any reason you haven’t read these books yet then I say get to it, because they are extremely special and worth every minute.

Leave a comment