Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

I have heard so many fantastic things about this book that I just had to give it a go.  I have also been on a fairy tale retelling kick since I saw the new Snow White movie.

I have loved the story of Cinderella since I was about three.  I thought that this was a very original take on already fantastic story.  I loved that it has the science fiction element of her being a cyborg.   Also, you have the dystopian aspect with its futuristic disease and impending war.  Then there is that new aspect of an evil queen like in Snow White who wants her dead.   Although,  in this version the queen hates mirrors.   The evil queen brings this story up a notch at least in my opinion.    She is everything an evil queen should be.  She is vain, ruthless and completely uncaring.   She wants things her way and has no problem killing those who get in her way, actually she rather enjoys making an example of people no matter if they are guilty or innocent.

I also, like the fact that Cinder isn’t a damsel in distress like most of the old fairy tales seem to portray the female lead characters.   She had a lot of spirit and wasn’t one to rely on someone like a fairy godmother to wave a wand and help her out.   She has several issues through out the book along with many secrets that she has to over come inorder to end up where she want to.   She has to fight a lot for what she believes in through out this book and I have to say that is one of the things that make me love this  so much.

This book is not the typical fairytale there is more at stake than just a failed romance or a queen trying to kill for some selfish reason.   A whole world could become slaves or affected by a very destructive virus.   I like how you’re not sure how the author is going to take this story.  I am not sure that after reading this that the series is going to have the happily ever after ending and that is one of the things that makes this book so attractive.   I think all the elements just make this book a must read for the year and will be on my favorites for a long time to come.

Leave a Reply

