Astarte’s Wrath (Kythan Guardians 0.5) by Trisha Wolfe

Astarte's Wrath

ebook
215 pages
Published March 2nd 2013

A tragic love story.

Two thousand years before Dez Harkly developed her secret powers, Guardian Astarte was vowed to protect by the binds enslaving her to the Egyptian pharaohs. Discover the prophecy that originated from a very different time, and spans generations to link two very different girls.

This is the beginning.

Set against the backdrop of the Battle of Actium, in the city of Alexandria, Star struggles with her guardian duties as her feelings for the newly named pharaoh of Egypt grow deeper. Not only is Caesarion her duty, he’s the son of Cleopatra, and he’s human. All of which makes their love forbidden.

But when a conspiracy linked to Caesar creeps into Alexandria, Star must choose between helping her fellow Kythan free themselves of their servitude, and protecting her charge—the last pharaoh—while Egypt burns around her.

New Adult/Mature YA: sexual content, drinking, drugs, violence, language, death, and other mature content intended for readers 17 and older. Astarte’s Wrath is a companion novel to Destiny’s Fire, but can be read as a standalone novel.

 I will be doing a review for this book on my vlog on YouTube in the next couple of days.  I would also like to thank Trisha for so generously providing a copy of her book for review.

My Thoughts:

First off, I was a little disappointed that this wasn’t the sequel to Destiny’s Fire because I have been waiting for it anxiously.  Then I read this book and I was blown away by how amazing it was.  I knew Trisha was a really good writer but now I known Trisha Wolfe’s writing is just amazing.  Her words move you to the point of awe and then they take to the point of heart-break at the same time.  Not many writers can write and make feel so many emotions at once.  I have reread this book twice and still want to read it again so I can experience the amazing feelings I got while read it.  This book takes the historical and the mythical and combines them into a very compelling story that is without a doubt is one of the most unique stories that I have ever read.

Honestly, this novel is  so intense  that I was just not able to put it down either time I read it!   The battle scenes were phenomenal and the betrayal was so completely shocking that I actually found myself yelling at the book.  Although, for me it was the romance that had me flipping pages as fast as I could just to see what was going to happen next.  To explain how intense this book was I thought it would be good to include a couple of my favorite quotes.

Quotes:

“Would you trade a long, nearly immortal life of servitude in exchange for a short one…with me?”

“I would give up my crown if it meant finding a way to free you, Star.”

“Cocky little king. You assume you’re the only one that gives me satisfaction?” His smile widens as he lifts one of my arms and kisses the sensitive skin of my wrist. “If there is something in this world that can please you more than me,” he says, his warm breath caressing my skin, “then I’ll be extra diligent in my duties tonight, my queen.

That is just a little glimpse of how incredibly sexy and emotional this book is.  There are many more but I think that if I included them it would end up spoiling the book for you.

The Characters:

Astarte is a heroine that you can relate to because she is a guardian but she is also very real.   She has her duty that she feels very strongly about but she also is very much a women in love with a man she shouldn’t be.  Then you have Xarion the prince of Egypt who I have to say made me swoon all through out this  book.  He was thoughtful brave and very loving just what a man should be.  I couldn’t help falling for him a little myself.  It also, had  a long list of other amazing characters that helped make up  this very passionate story.

Recommendation:

I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone who has read Destiny’s Fire.   It is a fantastic addition to the series.  This contains the back story to the Kythan race and why they serve Egypt.  I also think that those who haven’t read Destiny’s Fire will just love this series and will want to read it after reading this book.

Simple put Astarte Wrath is packed full of action, romance, heart-break and just completely amazing!  I think everyone should put this on their list to read along with any thing that Trisha writes, I know I will!

 

Leave a Reply

