Obsidian (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian (Lux, #1)

Kindle Edition
287 pages
Published November 29th 2011
by Entangled Publishing
Starting over sucks.When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring…. until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something…unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

THIS BOOK CONTAINS: Violence, Death, Sci-fi, Sexual Situations, and Romance.

My Thoughts:

First off, let me say girls and women everywhere will go crazy for Daemon. This book was fantastic and truly met all my expectations.   I enjoyed the fact that the romance didn’t feel like it does in a lot of novels. because the relationship developed slowly over time.   You didn’t get that love at first sight thing that happen in a lot but you did get a little instant lust on the part of  Katy.  Although who can really blame her Daemon is just so incredible hot.  I keep telling every one that he is my new book boyfriend.

About the Book:

First off, this novel is a YA paranormal romance involving aliens.   Which is a fresh new diversion from all the vampire novels on the YA market. Jennifer L. Armentrout writing style sucked me in right from the beginning.  The characters were very well-developed and very believable.   The setting really helped to make  this story believable.  Everything was just really well done and made this book exceptional.

Characters:

Katy is a book blogger which is just the perfect character for someone like me.   I love that she loved to review books as much as I do.  She even did a Waiting on Wednesday  on her blog which as a blogger I thought was incredible.  Mrs. Armentrout really out done herself by incorporating all the little details to Katy’s character to make her very realistic.

Then you have Daemon the sexy sarcastic boy next door.  He is the ideal bad boy or  at least Katy thinks so until she finds out that he’s an alien.  Well, she still thinks he’s a jerk but at least then she understands a little bit better why he is the way he is.  Daemon feels he has to protect his sister and his kind.  In order to do that he feels that he has to keep humans away from them.

Recommendations:

Obsidian is a fantastic read and one of the best alien novels I have ever read.  I do recommend having Onyx the sequel to Obsidian handy because it has a huge cliff hanger and you will want to start it right away.  I know if I would have had to wait it would have been complete torture.

 

Leave a Reply

