I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1) by Ally Carter

I'd Tell You I Love You, But Then I'd Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls, #1)

Paperback
284 pages
Published March 20th 2007
by Hyperion (first published April 1st 2006)
The Gallagher Academy for Exceptional Young Women is a fairly typical all-girls school, that is, if every school taught advanced martial arts in PE, the latest in chemical warfare in science; and students received extra credit for breaking CIA codes computer class. So in truth, Gallagher Academy might claim to be a school for geniuses, but its really a school for spies. Cammie Morgan is a second generation Gallagher Girl, and by her sophomore year she’s already fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man in seven different ways (three of which involve a piece of uncooked spaghetti.) But the one thing the Gallagher Academy hasn’t prepared her for is what to do when she falls for an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl. Sure, she can tap his phone, hack into his computer, and track him through a mall without his ever being the wiser, but can she have a regular relationship with a regular boy who can never know the truth about her? Cammie may be an elite spy in training, but in her sophomore year, shes beginning her most dangerous mission; she’s falling in love.
My Thoughts:
My over all impression of this book is that it was a lot of fun.   I thought it was on the younger YA side but still a very good read.  I couldn’t help smiling while reading this book.  I think that happiness is one of the most important things you could find in a book.  I loved it and I think it was a really good book to share with a friend.
The  Themes:
The theme is about girls learning to take control and what better way to do that than being a spy in training at an elite spy school.  This book also has girls trying to be normal teenagers.  Part of being  a normal teenager is falling in love but this can be really hard when you are supposed to be keeping your real life secret.  The girls are still just that teenage girls with specials skills but first they are still very much teenage girls!  With all the emotions that all girl face at that age.
My Recommendations:
I think most anyone can enjoy these books.  They are definitely family friendly books.   I know if you like spy books that are more traditional than this isn’t for you.  This is just a book that deals with younger teen girls but with the spy school twist.  So if you like fun fast reads then you will not be disappointed with this book.
Leave a Reply

