Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1) by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky (Under the Never Sky, #1)

Hardcover
374 pages
Published January 3rd 2012
by Harper Collins
Since she’d been on the outside, she’d survived an Aether storm, she’d had a knife held to her throat, and she’d seen men murdered. This was worse.

Exiled from her home, the enclosed city of Reverie, Aria knows her chances of surviving in the outer wasteland – known as The Death Shop – are slim. If the cannibals don’t get her, the violent, electrified energy storms will. She’s been taught that the very air she breathes can kill her. Then Aria meets an Outsider named Perry. He’s wild – a savage – and her only hope of staying alive.

A hunter for his tribe in a merciless landscape, Perry views Aria as sheltered and fragile – everything he would expect from a Dweller. But he needs Aria’s help too; she alone holds the key to his redemption. Opposites in nearly every way, Aria and Perry must accept each other to survive. Their unlikely alliance forges a bond that will determine the fate of all who live under the never sky.

This Book Contain: Extreme Violence, Death, Romance and Sexual Content.

My Thoughts:

This one is dystopian but it has a lot of science fiction in it.  Which if you don’t know sci-fi is one of my favorite genres.  I love how science fiction takes the things that we imagine and makes it possible like in this book. I think this world is very believable and it is something I could picture in my head.   I was getting tired of dystopian as a whole but with this book I have found a new passion for it.

My Review:

Under the Never Sky is told in alternating perspectives between Aria and Perry.  This helps the reader see into the minds of both main character which is becoming very popular now.  I think it adds something to the book because you can see where both of the characters are coming from.   I like being able to see inside their heads, like knowing what Perry was thinking and feeling about Aria.  It made it more intense to see what they were both thinking and feeling.  I also, like that even though they were different they both were strong and stubborn.  They were able to come together and help each other even though they didn’t trust each other in the beginning.  I like the slow romance that builds as the story progresses.  This just added so much more to the story but of course most good books have an epic romance in it.

The world that the author builds is very well done.  I could picture the domes and the smart eyes in my head.  The author is so descriptive that you never feel that you can’t connect to this world.   I love how the people in the dome perceive the people on the outside.  They think them to be diseased savages.  Which maybe true for some but not all.   I love how you can almost feel the fear that Aria has when she is tossed outside but this starts the adventure that she never would have expected.

This book really made me remember why I love to read.  Stories like these just take you on a journey that you never want to end.   I was thrilled at how the author ended this book but it just made my craving for the next one even stronger.

Leave a Reply

