Return (Lady of Toryn, #1) by Charity Santiago

Return (Lady of Toryn, #1)

Kindle Edition
 272 pages
Published May 2011

For the last three years, eighteen-year-old Ashlyn Li has been running from her destiny. A free-spirited ninja, Ashlyn would rather loot an abandoned city or challenge a fiend to battle than assume leadership of Toryn, her father’s kingdom. However, when a series of attacks reunite Ashlyn with the friends who helped her save the sun three years ago, she discovers that her kingdom is at war and her father has presumed her dead.

Suddenly Ashlyn is faced with not only fulfilling her birthright, but also making sense of her feelings towards two very different men- Drake Lockhart, the enigmatic vampire who captured her heart three years ago, and Vargo, the charismatic assassin who was once Ashlyn’s sworn enemy.

Will Ashlyn ascend the pagoda and become Lady of Toryn?

Don’t miss the exciting first installment in the Lady of Toryn trilogy, which also includes Regret (book 2), and Redemption (book 3), both available on Amazon Kindle now.

This Book Contains: Violence, Magic, Death and Romance.

I had to go back and reread this book in order to give it my full attention because there was so much action in it.  I felt that I had missed something the first read through.  I was right because I really liked it the first time but after reading it through again I am in complete  awe!    I read it over a few days this time and I have to say it was even better..  I missed some key plot points because I was also reading a book for a book club, that I wasn’t really into.    I was trying to get it done for the club meeting and I wasn’t focused on Return like I should have been.  So needless to say I reread it and now am dying to get the next one.

This book is so full of none stop action.  I thought it was headed one way and then bam! there was a huge plot twist around the middle of the book.  Which I have to say totally through me.  This author did an amazing job of twisting the plot not only once but she twisted again towards the end.   My jaw was hanging open after the second epic twist and I never saw any of it coming.  That rarely happens to me while I am reading and that just add to my reading experience.

The characters are amazing.  This book covers a lot of ground and it really explains what happened in the past seamlessly.   You never feel like you don’t understand the characters.   The author gives you a lot of insight into their pasts without spending chapters on it.  Which as a reader I think was a great way to do it.   She did it small moments of memories and conversations which helped the story to just flow.  I really like Ashlyn and found her to be everything a female lead to be.  She was very strong but unsure of her abilities to lead.  This just made me love her even more because she wasn’t this perfect know it all.  Vargo and Drake were both awesome love interest for me.   Vargo was very out there with his feelings and Drake was very closed off.  With Drake you’re not sure how he feels so it less of a love triangle so far than most books.   I have my favorite but I guess I will have to see how the story progresses.  I am hoping to get the second book soon!

I could go on and on about all the characters.   I good sing the authors praise because of her writing style but I won’t.  I think what I will say is that you should get yourself a copy of this book as soon as possible because once you read this book you will be saying why did I wait so long to read this!   I will leave the info on how to get the book at the bottom of this review along with the authors information.

Genre: young adult fantasy (some paranormal elements)

Book Availability: Kindle ebook

Book Trailer: http://youtu.be/L9nqfxGbuOY

Author’s Website Link: http://charitysantiago.blogspot.com

Goodreads Link: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4733058.Charity_Santiago

Leave a Reply

