Underworld (Abandon Trilogy, #2) by Meg Cabot

Underworld (Abandon Trilogy, #2)

Hardcover
318 pages
Published May 8th 2012 by Point

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Meg Cabot, the dark reimagining of the Persephone myth begun in ABANDON continues … into the Underworld.
Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.
Not this time.

But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.

Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance… on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.

But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there… and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.

And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape.I loved the first book in this series.  I can’t say that I loved this one as much but I did enjoy it.  I was hoping for more I can’t really say what but I just wanted more.  I felt it lack something that the first book had.  I think it felt a little rushed.  This is told like in two days.  A lot happened in those two days but I think it could have had more depth to it if the story would have been spread out over a longer time period.

This Book Contains: Violence, Danger, Mythology and Romance.

My Thought:

I loved the first book in this series.  I can’t say that I loved this one as much but I did enjoy it.  I was hoping for more I can’t really say what but I just wanted more.  I felt it lack something that the first book had.  I think it felt a little rushed.  This is told like in two days.  A lot happened in those two days but I think it could have had more depth to it if the story would have been spread out over a longer time period.

You still have the same great characters along with the addition of some underworld hotties.  This one you get some of the back story to why Pierce’s uncle went to prison. You also find out the truth of the  pomegranate myth.  I found myself sometimes disappointed in John for not coming out and telling Pierce the truth instead of letting her believe in all these falsehoods.   I still like John a lot and I understand why he did what he did.  I just wish that he would have been more up front.

Over all I did enjoy the book.  I also can’t wait for the third book.  I believe that this will be the final book in the series so I hope that Meg pulls out all the stop for it.  I really think that there are a lot of unanswered question and I hope the book gets the ending it deserves.

Leave a Reply

