A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

A Shade of Vampire

Paperback
147 pages
Published December 14th 2012

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.
A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.
She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.
Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.
Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.
Will she succeed? …or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks??

This Book Contain: Violence, Slavery, Death, Sexual Content and Romance.

My Thoughts:

First off let me say that both book covers are just amazing picks for this book.  Both have qualities that I love in a book cove.   The one having a stone arch with the title inside is just so eye-catching.  Although I also, love the one with the girl on the front because it depicts so much of the book’s story.  I am still not sure which is my favorite.

This was a just a thrilling story.  I couldn’t read it like I normally would because of how busy I was.  So I read pages at a time.  I read it in the morning between taking kids to school, when I got home and had a few minutes before dinner and then for a few minutes before bed.   This book even though short drove me crazy because I didn’t want to put it down and life kept trying to get in the way.  I was never once bored with the book or wanting to skip parts to get to something good further on in the book because it was all good.   That says a lot about how this book totally grab my attention and would not let it go.  In fact I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.    I just hope it doesn’t ruin me or put me in a reading slump because I can’t stop thinking about it. When a book a book is this good its hard to read or wrap your mind around new characters and settings when you are still thinking about what happens next.

The story line at first had me thinking that it was going a totally different way then how it ended up..  I loved that it surprised me and the twists it took.  Some things you just knew were going to happen but overall this was just a very refreshing read for me.  I was very invested with Sophia and would love to learn more of her back story but it wasn’t needed to enjoy the book.   I know this book deals with a lot of dark subject matter but it never feels dark.  I think the reason is because of the way the author portrays Derek.  He is just so strong and caring that you really feel for him.   He is what a main character should be.  He is conflicted over Sophia and his role as leader which shows his human side.  Although at times you still get the glimpse of the monster inside.  Overall this book is just packed full of details for such a short read.  I cannot wait to read the next book.

Leave a Reply

