Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits #1) by Katie McGarry

Pushing the Limits (Pushing the Limits, #1)
Hardcover

392 pages
Published July 31st 2012
by Harlequin Teen

No one knows what happened the night Echo Emerson went from popular girl with jock boyfriend to gossiped-about outsider with “freaky” scars on her arms. Even Echo can’t remember the whole truth of that horrible night. All she knows is that she wants everything to go back to normal.But when Noah Hutchins, the smoking-hot, girl-using loner in the black leather jacket, explodes into her life with his tough attitude and surprising understanding, Echo’s world shifts in ways she could never have imagined. They should have nothing in common. And with the secrets they both keep, being together is pretty much impossible.

Yet the crazy attraction between them refuses to go away. And Echo has to ask herself just how far they can push the limits and what she’ll risk for the one guy who might teach her how to love again.

This Book Contain:  Sex, Drugs, Loss, Abuse, Mental Illness and Love.

My Thoughts: 

I was blown away at how good this book really was.  I am not a huge contemporary reader but this book may have just changed my mind on the genre.  I went in to this book thinking it was going to be depressing but it turns out it was actually very different.  Not to say that the book didn’t have sad moments because it did.  Although, over all I found this book to be full of life and hope.  I found a strength in the characters for the obstacles they have to deal with and over come in this book.

I love the romance between Echo and Noah.  I like how it builds over time and how they learn to find strength in themselves while drawing strength for each other.  The story unfolds slowly just like their relationship.  You get to see what drives Noah and watch him grow as a person.   The author did a great job on getting you to see thru his eyes and helping you to understand his need to keep things together.   With Echo the author takes you on a journey  through her past to find the missing pieces of her memory that she has lost.   Also, you get to see her come full circle and stand on her own two feet.

I was just so invested in these characters.  I felt as if I was there going thru the pain and trauma that these character had to deal with.  I found this story to be compelling and was not able to stop thinking about it even days after I had finished it.  I am certain that I will give more contemporaries a chance now that I have read this book.

Leave a Reply

