Kill Me Softly

Kill Me Softly

Hardcover
336 pages
Published April 10th 2012
by EgmontUSA
“Incorporating suspense and romance, this contemporary, edgy, Grimm-based novel is an entertaining and well-written entry in the crowded but popular genre.”—Booklist

Mirabelle’s past is shrouded in secrecy, from her parents’ tragic deaths to her guardians’ half-truths about why she can’t return to her birthplace, Beau Rivage. Desperate to see the town, Mira runs away a week before her sixteenth birthday—and discovers a world she never could have imagined.In Beau Rivage, nothing is what it seems—the strangely pale girl with a morbid interest in apples, the obnoxious playboy who’s a beast to everyone he meets, and the chivalrous guy who has a thing for damsels in distress. Here, fairy tales come to life, curses are awakened, and ancient stories are played out again and again.

But fairy tales aren’t pretty things, and they don’t always end in happily ever after. Mira has a role to play, a fairy tale destiny to embrace or resist. As she struggles to take control of her fate, Mira is drawn into the lives of two brothers with fairy tale curses of their own . . . brothers who share a dark secret. And she’ll find that love, just like fairy tales, can have sharp edges and hidden thorns.

This Book Contains: Death, Violence, Curses, Secrecy, Magic and Romance. 

My Thoughts:

I absolutely loved this book!  I am a huge fan of fairy tales and this was no exception.  These fairy tales are not your Disney versions.  These are dark and not all of them end in happily ever after.  I don’t think I have read any thing like this in a very long time, if ever.

I could say that I love Mira but she wasn’t my favorite.  I did however love many of the other characters.  Mira is one of those girls that think she needs to stay with a guy because she can change him.  I personally  do not like these types of girls because they just fool themselves into thinking that they can make a difference when no one before them ever could.

Many of the male character were just fabulous.  I found them to be strong and so full of life that they just seem to jump off the pages.  I just fell in love with so much of this book and I think it was because of the strong male leads.  Also, the back stories of the characters just gave this book so much depth.

This was just simple fantastic and I feel that any review that I could give this book is sort of doing it an injustice.  I think that until you read it you can’t fully understand how truly amazing this book really is.  So, I so recommend this book to anyone who like retellings or just want to take a very remarkable journey.

 

Leave a Reply

