Overprotected by Jennifer Laurens

Overprotected

Paperback
243 pages
Published April 29th 2011
by Grove Creek Publishing (first published February 9th 2011)
Ashlyn: A lonely society princess living in New York City.Daddy hired you to be my bodyguard.Colin: Childhood enemy, now her protector.Daddy thought I’d be safe. He thought I’d never fall in love. He thought he could keep me forever.Charles: obsessed with keeping her safe, keeping her his, he hires the one person he knows she could never fall in love with: Colin.Daddy was wrong.

This Book Contains: Violence, Kidnapping, Obsession, Neglect and Romance.

 My Thoughts:
I wasn’t sure if I would like this book or not but the overprotective father really caught my attention.  I am very glad that I picked this up because it was very intriguing.  I needed something different to get me out of my reading slump.
This is a contemporary novel about a father’s obsession to keep his daughter safe from everything because of an incident in the past.  You see that his obsession because a prison not only for her but the family to.  Also, despite his efforts something happens to his daughter anyways.
I did like Ashlyn as a character because despite her parents rules she still fought in her own way for what she wanted.  I really like the romance that develops in this book because it moves slow and steady to the inevitable climax.  I felt that there was real character growth in Ashlyn through out this book.
I think anyone who has ever felt overprotected or overprotective will find thing in this book they can relate to.  Overall it was a very enjoyable read and I recommend it for other people who want to read something a little different but familiar.
Leave a Reply

