Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine #1) by Ransom Riggs

Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine, #1)Hardcover
352 pages
Published June 7th 2011
by Quirk
A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs. Fiction is based on real black and white photographs. The death of grandfather Abe sends sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, and explores abandoned bedrooms and hallways. The children may still live.

This Book Contains: Death, Family Issues, Monsters, and Violence.

My Thoughts:

I couldn’t stay on track for about the first half of the book so, I decided to finish it by listening to it on audio.  I thought that I would lose something by not being able to read it because of not have the pictures to look at.  I was very wrong because the reader was fantastic in my opinion.  I loved how the story seem to start to come to life for me.  I did however think that this was going to be more of a horror story than what it was.   It was creepy but as far as frightening me I didn’t seem the least bit scared.  I know it was a little scary for some people but for me I think I am just to desensitize to these types of books.

I did enjoy the times with the children and I really enjoyed the ending of the book.  This book leaves you wondering if there will be a sequel.   So much happened at the end which totally grabbed my attention and helped me finish the book.  I almost gave up and that would have been a shame because by the end I was quite intrigued.   I will definitely read a sequel if there is one because I think the story can only get better from here.

Leave a Reply

