Keep Holding On by Susane Colasanti

Keep Holding On

Hardcover
224 pages
Published May 31st 2012
by Viking Juvenile
A romantic and empowering book about bullyingNoelle’s life is all about survival. Even her best friend doesn’t know how much she gets bullied, or the ways her mom neglects her. Noelle’s kept so much about her life a secret for so long that when her longtime crush Julian Porter starts paying attention to her, she’s terrified. Surely it’s safer to stay hidden than to risk the pain of a broken heart. But when the antagonism of her classmates takes a dramatic turn, Noelle realizes it’s time to stand up for herself–and for the love that keeps her holding on.

This book contains: Violence, Death,  Bullying, Rape, Neglect, Friendship, Romance, and Inner Courage.

My Thought:

I could relate to this book.  I had a very rough childhood.  My mother wasn’t the best and we hardly had new things.   Although that is where it ends.  I did not let anyone push me around.  I had a lot of pride and anger growing up, so if someone pushed me I always pushed back.  I also, never put up with people bullying others around me.  I alway fought for the underdog, so this really irritated me about the main character.  I felt she needed to stand up for herself and others a lot sooner.

I did however love her best friend because even though she was going through something very devastating she was able to still stand by Noelle’s side.  I loved her strength and in the end her courage to come forward with what happened to her.  She was more like me than Noelle.  I wish we would have been able to get more of her story because I think she would have been an inspiration to may young women.

All and all this was a good and quick read even though I am not a fan of contemporary.    I liked the synopsis of this book so I decided to give it a try and was not disappointed.  I think that the writing in some parts was weak but it didn’t take away from the story too much.   I think if you’re a fan of contemporary or have young women in your life you may want to read this or have them read it.  I think it gave a really good insight to what our children have to deal with in school..

Leave a Reply

