Lies Beneath (Lies Beneath #1) by Anne Greenwood Brown

Lies Beneath (Lies Beneath #1)

Hardcover
303 pages
Published June 12th 2012
by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
The lore of mermaids and mermen is real! As Gretchen McNeil, author of Possess, says, “Riveting! A cold-blooded tale of secrets, revenge, and forbidden love that will leave you terrified to go in the water.”

Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids. To survive, Calder and his sisters prey on humans and absorb their positive energy. Usually, they select their victims at random, but this time around, the underwater clan chooses its target for a reason: revenge. They want to kill Jason Hancock, the man they blame for their mother’s death.

It’s going to take a concerted effort to lure the aquaphobic Hancock onto the water. Calder’s job is to gain Hancock’s trust by getting close to his family. Relying on his irresistible good looks and charm, Calder sets out to seduce Hancock’s daughter Lily. Easy enough, but Calder screws everything up by falling in love–just as Lily starts to suspect there’s more to the monster-in-the-lake legends than she ever imagined, and just as the mermaids threaten to take matters into their own hands, forcing Calder to choose between them and the girl he loves.

One thing’s for sure: whatever Calder decides, the outcome won’t be pretty.

This Book Contain: Violence, Death, Lies, Deceit, Illness and Romance

My Thoughts:

I have never been a big fan of mermaids.  I have never found the idea of being half-fish appealing.  Now on the other hand my two daughters totally love mermaids of all kinds.  Such as; the Disney version all the way down to the man-eating sirens kind.  With that being said I have recently found myself intrigued by them,  mostly due to my eldest daughters persistent nagging to read more books about them.   I have to say that I still don’t think that being half-fish would make my short list of mythical favorite creatures that I would want to be someday but, reading about them is becoming kind of addicting.

I bought this book because of my daughter and thought that I would get to it eventually.  Then while at my library I found it on audio and figured that it would be a good time to pick it up.  I needed something to listen to while commuting the kids around in the morning.   I just want to let everyone know that this book had even my son telling me not to listen to it without him.   This book is just a very well written and the voice for the audio is very compelling.   We found that we didn’t want to shut the book off in the morning which almost made us late a couple of times.

This book has a little of almost everything.  It has family secrets which if you pay close attention you can kind of see coming.    Also, there is a romance that isn’t love at first sight.  The romance is more of an attraction that forms a stronger bond over time which, I know a lot of readers like that type of story line better.   There is almost a underline sadness to this book because these mermaids feel that they have no other choice but to kill Hancock in order to make good on a promise that was broken.  I felt very sorry for the sisters in this book.  They each have some sort of conscience that seems to be trying to fight their natures but, it’s almost as if they can’t figure out how to change.  There is so much bitterness in the oldest sister, it’s as if she thinks by killing this one man that she will finally be free.  I could just feel so much empathy for her because she will never be happy.

I am glad that I gave this book a chance and I am looking forward to reading the next book.   Also, after reading this I now have several more mermaid books that I want to move up on my list.

Leave a Reply

