Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, #1)by Heather Brewer

Eighth Grade Bites (The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod, #1)

Hardback
172 pages
Published August 16th 2007
by Dutton Children’s Books
Junior high really sucks for thirteen-year-old Vladimir Tod. Bullies harass him, the principal is dogging him, and the girl he likes prefers his best friend. Oh, and Vlad has a secret: his mother was human, but his father was a vampire. With no idea of the extent of his powers, Vlad struggles daily with his blood cravings and his enlarged fangs. When a substitute teacher begins to question him a little too closely, Vlad worries that his cover is about to be blown. But then he faces a much bigger problem: he’s being hunted by a vampire killer.

This Book Contains: Death, Violence, Bullying, Preteen Drama, and Vampires.

My Thoughts:

I enjoyed this book a lot.  I was so surprised by the fact that I liked this book, because I just do not really care for books with a young male protagonist.   I do however love books about vampires and I know a lot of people are thinking how original of me.  All I have to say on that matter is that I have loved books and movies about vampires for forever.   I even liked the old black and white films about them.  Which brings me to why I enjoyed this books so much.  I could almost picture this story as an old black and white film in my head.   I know it is a modern setting but all I could do was picture this young washed out Adams family type of kid with that type of tv show setting to it.   Not sure why but that is the image that kept popping in to my head.

The book was just a very fun read for me even though I know there were some death and violence in this book.   I know that should have put a different spin on the book but it didn’t.  This possible  may mean that there is something off with me but this book just had that Halloween, stay up late, eat candy and watch cheesy movie feel.  I don’t want to give the impression that this book is in any way cheesy but it just has that feel to it.   I think it is a great book for younger readers who are reluctant to read.  I think young boys could really get into this story and for those who are older it is just pure fun!

Leave a Reply

