The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend by Kody Keplinger

The Duff: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Hardcover
280 pages
Published September 7th 2010
by Little Brown/Poppy
Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.
But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.

This Book Contains:  Sex, Drinking, Family Drama and Love.

My Thoughts:

This will most likely hit my top five favorite reads for the year.  I love Pride and Prejudice and this adaptation is an amazing addition to the P&P family.    I found this book to be similar but definitely more  contemporary in the fact that you have high school and all the drama that surrounds it.  It takes all your modern issues and adds the basic character qualities that you have from P&P with various twists.

One of the most confusing things for me to grasp in the beginning of the book was Wesley.  I thought  he was the Wickham of the story I never guessed that he was actually Darcy.   He was just so cocky and kind of insulting at first.  Although I know that is what people think of Darcy being but I just picture him to be different.    I do like the twist on Wesley and I felt that it worked for this story.  I loved how even though he seemed so confident in the end he was just a very sad and lonely boy in need of someone to love and be loved.

There is a lot of sexual content in this book but it goes with the whole destructive behavior of the teens in it.   I can so relate to the bitterness and the self-destructive behavior that Bianca exhibits throughout the book.  I  also had a very destructive personality in high school so she reminds me a lot of myself at that age.   I think many of us will be able to see parts of ourselves in these characters and I think that is definitely part of the appeal.  Over all this was just an amazing read and one that I will be reading and rereading for years to come.

Leave a Reply

