Destiny’s Fire (Kythan Guardians, #1) by Trisha Wolfe

Destiny's Fire (Kythan Guardians, #1)

Paperback
224 pages
Published January 10th 2012
by Omnific Publishing (first published January 8th 2012)
 It’s the year 2040, and sixteen-year-old Dez Harkly is one of the last of her kind—part of a nearly extinct race of shape-shifters descended from guardians to the Egyptian pharaohs. Her home and her secret are threatened when the Council lowers the barrier, allowing the enemy race to enter the Shythe haven. 

As the Narcolym airships approach, Dez and her friends rebel against their Council and secretly train for battle. Not only is Dez wary of war and her growing affection for her best friend Jace, but she fears the change her birthday will bring. When Dez’s newfound power rockets out of control, it’s a Narcolym who could change her fate… if she can trust him.

Dez’s guarded world crumbles when she discovers why the Narcos have really come to Haven Falls, and she’s forced to choose between the race who raised her and the enemy she’s feared her whole life.         

This Book Contains:  War, Death, Love, Sexual Situations, and Deception.
My Thoughts:
Wow this was so much better than I had anticipated.  I found myself throughly sucked into this story from the very beginning.  I loved the steam punk eliminates because they were there but they didn’t over whelm the story.   I could picture this world and belive in it. The author does a great job in making you believe in this race of shape-shifters.  I can picture Dez and her friends looking like the pictures on the tomb walls of the great pharaohs.  It is also does a great job of convincing  you that this is a race on the brink of extinction and that its council is willing to do what ever it takes to keep them alive.  You actually feel as if there is a count down to impending danger while you are reading this book.
Dez is a really good character because she is a fierce warrior and doesn’t even know how powerful she truly is.  She has a lot of insecurities but that is what makes her so really to me.   Her complexities make her jump off the page.  She was so real to me that I could picture her in my mind.  I loved her relationship with her friends and her fierce loyalty she has to them.  I was a little unsure of her relationship with Reese at first because it developed so fast but the story stayed true to her nature.   There is a slight love triangle but it doesn’t take anything away from the story so for those who don’t like them rest assured that it is only a minute portion of the book.
I loved all the different plots going on in this book.  There was so much going on but it never felt disjointed or confusing.   The author clearly has a vision for this story and she is definitely amazing at the execution of it.  The story was full of excitement from beginning to end.  I just wish I didn’t have to wait so long until the next book.
One thought on “Destiny’s Fire (Kythan Guardians, #1) by Trisha Wolfe

  1. So glad that you liked it. I adore Trisha, but I haven’t been able to read this yet. As soon as I get a chance, I am so on it.

Leave a Reply

