I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It by Adam Selzer

I Kissed a Zombie, and I Liked It (Paperback)

Paperback
177 pages
Published  January 26th 2010
by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
(first published January 20th 2010)

Algonquin “Ali” Rhodes, the high school newspaper’s music critic, meets an intriguing singer, Doug, while reviewing a gig. He’s a weird-looking guy—goth, but he seems sincere about it, like maybe he was into it back before it was cool. She introduces herself after the set, asking if he lives in Cornersville, and he replies, in his slow, quiet murmur, “Well, I don’t really live there, exactly. . . .”
When Ali and Doug start dating, Ali is falling so hard she doesn’t notice a few odd signs: he never changes clothes, his head is a funny shape, and he says practically nothing out loud. Finally Marie, the school paper’s fashion editor, points out the obvious: Doug isn’t just a really sincere goth. He’s a zombie. Horrified that her feelings could have allowed her to overlook such a flaw, Ali breaks up with Doug, but learns that zombies are awfully hard to get rid of—at the same time she learns that vampires, a group as tightly-knit as the mafia, don’t think much of music critics who make fun of vampires in reviews. .

Book Contains:  Zombies, Vampires and Romance.

My thoughts:

First off let me say that I thought that this book was incredible slow for a book that is less than 200 pages.  I would have thought that the author would have made and effort to move this story along because of the shortness of the book.

Secondly, I just could not get past the fact that this guy was a zombie. I just kept thinking how gross it was to kiss one.  I kept thinking of his flesh and how it was starting to rot yuck! Also, Alley talks about kissing him and how the taste of the medicine was strong, gross!! I know that I don’t want to taste anything weird when kissing my boyfriend.  All through this book I kept thinking why doesn’t she just go for the vampire boy.  I realize that I  am prejudice against zombies there I have said but now that it is out in the open I feel better getting it off my chest.  Needless to say this was not a book for me.  I discovered that I like books about killing zombies but not dating them.

Leave a Reply

