Dust & Decay (Benny Imura, #2) by Jonathan Maberry

Dust & Decay (Benny Imura, #2)

Hardcover
1st Edition, 519 pages
Published  August 30th 2011
by Simon & Schuster Books For Young Readers
In post-apocalyptic America, 15-year-old Benny Imura and his friends set out into the great Rot & Ruin hoping to find a better future but are soon pitted against zombies, wild animals, insane murderers, and the horrors of Gameland.

This Book Contains:  Violence, Child Abuse, Romance and Death.

This was the second installment to the Benny Imura series.  I will say that this book was a lot better than the first.  It moved at a very fast pace and kept my interest all the way through. In this Benny and the gang want to leave town to go find where the jet came from.  They also want to find out what is still out there and if they can reclaim it.  Gameland is back in business and someone is trying to kill the Imura brothers along with their friends.  In this one the zombies are changing by moving faster and starting to leave areas they have always occupied to swarm new ones.  Also some of the dead are actually staying that way.  So what does this mean and could this plague be coming to an end?

I just finished this book and I have to say that I knew it was coming but, why?  I know there are things authors have to do in order to add eliminate  of suspense to a story and sometimes people have to die in order to do that.  I just think that just like in Harry Potter sometimes enough is enough.  You don’t always have to kill off everyone someone loves to add drama or to give the characters something to fight for.  I really did enjoy this book even though it broke my heart.  I will read the next book in the series to see what happens to the remaining characters but I will be sad about it.

    
2 thoughts on “Dust & Decay (Benny Imura, #2) by Jonathan Maberry

  1. I should read these books. It’s so hard to find a good zombie series.

    I have to disagree about the killing off characters thing. I think it’s necessary that characters die. That’s life. If everyone survived Death Eaters and Zombies, than how dangerous could they really be? Also, when an author is willing to kill off her characters it makes her unpredictable. Which, in turn, makes the story more exciting. IMO 🙂

    • I know but I just think that some times you kill off to many characters and what is the point. Just like in Harry Potter why did she have to kill of Lupin after killing of the rest of Harrys father figures. I just thought it was a little over kill.

Leave a Reply

