The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #2) by Rick Riordan

The Sea of Monsters (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #2)

Hardcover
279 pages
Published  April 1st 2006
by Disney Hyperion Books   
 
 After a summer spent trying to prevent a catastrophic war among the Greek gods, Percy Jackson is finding his seventh-grade school year unnervingly quiet. His biggest problem is dealing with his new friend, Tyson, a six-foot-three, mentally challenged homeless kid who follows Percy everywhere, making it hard for Percy to have any normal friends. But things don’t stay quiet for long.
Percy soon discovers there is trouble at Camp Half-Blood: the magical borders that protect Half-Blood Hill have been poisoned by a mysterious enemy, and the only safe haven for demigods is on the verge of being overrun by mythological monsters. To save the camp, Percy needs the help of his best friend, Grover, who has been taken prisoner on an island somewhere in the Sea of Monsters, the dangerous waters Greek heroes have sailed for millennia. Only today, the Sea of Monsters goes by a new name: The Bermuda Triangle.
Together with his friends, Percy must retrieve the Golden Fleece from the Island of the Cyclopes or Camp Half-Blood will be destroyed. But first, Percy will learn a stunning new secret about his family, one that makes him question whether being claimed as Poseidon’s son is an honor or simply a cruel joke.   
 

This Book Contains:  Loyalty, Fighting, Violence and Adventure.

My Thoughts:

I really enjoy reading books by Rick Riordan.  I love his Percy Jackson series and I thought that since I am reading mythology books this month it would be a good time to revisit some of his books that I haven’t read in a long time.   I listened to this on audio and I think I enjoyed it more this time around than I did the first.   I still feel that the second book lacked the excitement of the first but it did have a lot of very sweet moments.  Some of which are my favorite in the series.  I just enjoy the way Rick puts life lessons in  his books without trying to shove them down your throat.  I love that Percy discovered that he had a brother and that he was able to accept him even though he was part monster. 

 I know that most people know who Rick Riordan because of the Percy Jackson movie.  I also know that you have all heard that  books are always better than the movie and in this case it is true.  I encourage people to try his books if they haven’t because you are in for an awesome ride.  I also would suggest that if you know someone one who is a reluctant reader or who doesn’t care for middle grade give them these books.  I am sure that they will help change their minds and open up new options for them.  I have suggested and given this series to many adult along with younger children  to read.   Almost all of them have loved this series and the ones who didn’t really didn’t even start them.   So I highly recommend reading these book and giving them to someone who may be struggling or just needs to see what middle grade has to offer.

Leave a Reply

