Love and Leftovers by Sarah Tregay

Love and Leftovers

Hardcover
451 pages
Published  December 27th 2011
by Katherine Tegen Books
“Love and Leftovers” is a powerfully written debut novel that chronicles one teen’s journey navigating family, friends, and love.

This Book Contains:  Divorce, Teen Pregnancy, Homosexuality, Depression, and Break-Ups.

The Plot:

Marcie is dealing with a lot.  Her parents are getting divorced because her father is dating another man.  Her mom  basically kidnaps her and takes her back to where she grew up.  Now away for all her friends and home she has to deal with her mother who won’t get out of bed.  Marcie has to do everything and to top it all off she misses her boyfriend like crazy.

The Characters:

There is Marcie who life is in a tailspin and she is just trying to figure out how to juggle everything.  You have Katie the understanding best friend.  Linus the boyfriend that she had to leave behind.  Her parents who have really messed up her life and theirs.  The you have the new boy J.D that helps Marcie deal with feeling alone and unloved.

My Thoughts:

I could not put this book down.  I have read books in verse before but none of have them have ever been this good.  I found this book extremely well written, which is alway a concern of mine when I go to read a book like this.  I found the book to be very engaging.   I know this will be on my list of favorites for the year.  The author took so many issues dealing with teens and gave them to this one girl and her family.    Then she piled more on top of that and the book still worked.  I was amazed that she was able to hit so many issues and still make the book believable.  I love the way she got into the minds of teenagers and brought it out in Marcie.  Marcie is confused about her parents and a little in denial.  She never saw this coming or at least she didn’t at the time.  She feels torn by wanting to take care of her mother, missing her friends, missing her dad while being mad at him and then having met J.D the beautiful new boy while still dating Linus.   All of this would be too much to handle but, Marcie does and it is such a moving story.  Sarah Tregay just hit this out of the park.  Authors like this make me want to read more contemporary and I have never been a big fan of this genre.   Although with books like this out there I may have to rethink my thoughts on that.  Everythingin this book works so flawlessly that I just couldn’t put it down until the very end.  I cant help but tell everyone about how great I think this book is.  I know that I will be looking forward to reading more by this author.

 

Leave a Reply

