Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

Legend

Hardcover
305 pages
Published November 29th 2011 
by Putnam Juvenile 
 What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.
From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’ death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.
Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.     

This Book Contains:  Dystopian society, Death, Violence, Romance, lots of Action and Alternating view points.

THE PLOT:

This is your basic dystopian book, California is under the control of the Republic.   They seem to want to hide the truth about the way the government used to be ran so, that they can keep the people under their complete control.  You have a boy who is fighting against the Republic because he feels they are treating people is wrong.  Then you have a girl who  has been raised to believe in the government with her whole heart.  After she meets the boy she start to think that her beliefs might be misplaced..

THE CHARACTERS:

You have June who is a die-hard solider with a good heart.  She is the Republics shining star with a perfect score of 1500 during her trial which, has never been achieved before.  She has extraordinary tracking skills, a mind that can work out any problem, skilled in physical combat and is the best  at the academy.  You have Day who was not accepted in to the academy because he failed his trail.  He is now a rebel fighting against the Republic and the injustices that they inflict on the people. 

MY THOUGHTS:

I find myself liking dystopian book more and more.  The way that these authors are able to suck you into the stories and have you holding you breath waiting to see if the characters are going to make it out of whatever bad situation that they find themselves in just amazes me.  First off let me say that I found this book to be extremely entertaining,    While I was reading this book I felt that if I put it down that I would miss something important.  I know that sounds strange but that is how involved I got with these characters.  This book is full of action so much so that my heart would actually start  to race.  I found myself even out of breath at times.  This book was an amazing book and I think for me the only draw back to this book is its cover.  I feel that the cover could have been a lot better but I am glad that I overlooked the cover and read this book because it was extremely good! 

Leave a Reply

