Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1) by Stacey Jay

Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1)

Hardcover
307 pages
Published  August 9th 2011
 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
“These violent delights have violent ends And in their triumph die, like fire and powder, Which as they kiss consume.” —Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare
The most tragic love story in history . . .
Juliet Capulet didn’t take her own life. She was murdered by the person she trusted most, her new husband, Romeo Montague, a sacrifice made to ensure his own immortality. But what Romeo didn’t anticipate was that Juliet would be granted eternity, as well, and would become an agent for the Ambassadors of Light. For 700 years, she’s fought Romeo for the souls of true lovers, struggling to preserve romantic love and the lives of the innocent. Until the day she meets someone she’s forbidden to love, and Romeo, oh Romeo, will do everything in his power to destroy that love.   

This book contains:  Romance, Violence, Death, Soul mates and many quotes from the play.

The plot:

This is one of the most unusual plots that I have ever read.  Just when you think that you have read everything about Romeo and Juliet out there something completely orignal crosses you path.  I mean you have Romeo and Juliet as warriors of true love.   Romeo who wants to destroy true love and Juliet who wants to preserve it.

The Characters:

You have Juliet who as spent these many centuries cursing the day that she every met Romeo.  I found her to be very likeable and not a weak little female.  She wants to do whats right even at the expense of her own heart.  Romeo wants to do nothing more but to turn soul mates against each other.   I found Romeo to be a very complex character.   You want to hate him but thru out the book you see the good in him that still lingers even after all these centuries.     Then you have Ben who I happen to love.  He was a very strong individual who knew what he wanted and wasn’t going stop trying to get it.    You have a lot of side character also with intense emotions that really help bring this story to life.

My Thoughts:

This book turned every thing that you knew about the most famous love story  ever told and blew it all to hell!   I was so drawn to this story that once I started it, it was all I could think about.  I read it in a day and a half.  I loved the characters and the plot so much.   I have always loved retellings but this one by far is probably my favorite.  There where so many climaxes thru out this book.  I found myself saying Stacey could have ended it right there but then she would flip the story and make you even more immersed than before.  Stacey Jay to me is just an amazing story-teller with great vision and a wonderful  imagination.   This is probably one of the most original stories that I have ever read.

One thought on “Juliet Immortal (Juliet Immortal #1) by Stacey Jay

Leave a Reply

