The Iron Thorn (Iron Codex #1) by Caitlin Kittredge

The Iron Thorn (Iron Codex, #1)

Hardcover
493 pages
Published February 22nd 2011
by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
 In the city of Lovecraft, the Proctors rule and a great Engine turns below the streets, grinding any resistance to their order to dust. The necrovirus is blamed for Lovecraft’s epidemic of madness, for the strange and eldritch creatures that roam the streets after dark, and for everything that the city leaders deem Heretical—born of the belief in magic and witchcraft. And for Aoife Grayson, her time is growing shorter by the day.      Aoife Grayson’s family is unique, in the worst way—every one of them, including her mother and her elder brother Conrad, has gone mad on their 16th birthday. And now, a ward of the state, and one of the only female students at the School of Engines, she is trying to pretend that her fate can be different.     
This book contains: Mental Illness, Violence, Death, Otherworldly Creatures, Romance and Magic.  This is Listed as a Steampunk Novel.
My Thoughts On The Plot:
I enjoyed the plot very much because it is very different from other books I have read before.  It has a very complex world of magic, machines, and otherworldly creatures.  The plot of the book left you wondering what could possible be thrown at these characters next.   There seemed to always be an eliminate of surprise or a twist that you didn’t see coming.  Kittredge is a very talented author with a very vivid imagination.   The plot is very complex and creative and it just blew me away.
The Characters:
Aoife Grayson is a strong female lead protagonist.  She is willing to do whatever it takes to save her brother even after mental illness takes over and makes him try to kill her.  Then we have Cal who is Aoife’s best friend with a lot of issues.  I found him to be a loyal  but some what annoying character in the beginning.   I liked him a lot better later in the book.  Last you have Dean,  well what can I say about Dean?  Dean is a very strong male lead and he has his own set of secrets.  Although, I have to say I love the fierce connection he has to Aoife.    With these character you get a really good connection that is sometimes lacking in books of this type.
My Thought:
I found the book to be very slow to get into but once I did I really enjoyed it.  There was a lot of world and character building in this story.  I think all the building helped you feel connected to this story and with out it I don’t think there would have been that connection.  I enjoyed this story a lot and I look forward to reading the next book in this series, because I have high hopes that this will be one of those epic type stories that you talk about for years after it has ended.
One thought on “The Iron Thorn (Iron Codex #1) by Caitlin Kittredge

  1. I already own this book, but haven’t read it yet. After reading your review, I want too– now. I love the cover, it makes me feel all funny inside lol. Your review was fantastic. I love that it’s short and too the point. I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

