Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

Scarlet

Hardcover
304 pages
Expected publication:
February 14th 2012 by Walker Childrens
  Many readers know the tale of Robin Hood, but they will be swept away by this new version full of action, secrets, and romance.
Posing as one of Robin Hood’s thieves to avoid the wrath of the evil Thief Taker Lord Gisbourne, Scarlet has kept her identity secret from all of Nottinghamshire. Only the Hood and his band know the truth: the agile thief posing as a whip of a boy is actually a fearless young woman with a secret past. Helping the people of Nottingham outwit the corrupt Sheriff of Nottingham could cost Scarlet her life as Gisbourne closes in. It’s only her fierce loyalty to Robin—whose quick smiles and sharp temper have the rare power to unsettle her—that keeps Scarlet going and makes this fight worth dying for.                  
This book contains:  Murder, Adventure, Violence,  Romance and Debut for 2012.
 I received this from netgalley and I just wanted to thank them for this amazing read.

Plot:

This is a very unique take on a story that has been done over and over.    Y ou have the same great story line that you would expect with any thing related to Robin Hood.  It is still rob from the rich and give to the poor.   It had all the great characters with a very unexpected twist.  There is a girl called Will Scarlet that is in Robins band of merry men.  She is not who they think she is and she is definitely not a defenceless women.  She has a history with Gisbourne that if he finds out that she is there it could mean disaster for the whole group.

Characters:

You have Robin Hood who is of course a noblemen turned outlaw.  Then you have Much who is in this version a little more complex because of his physical problems.  You have John who is still a big hulk of  a guy but  with more heart in this version.   Y ou have Tuck who is a bar keep in this book and last you have Will Scarlet who is a girl with a secret past.  Of course the villains are pretty much the same.

My Thoughts: 

I was pretty sure that I had read just about every version of  Robin Hood out there.  Well I was pleasantly mistaken when I read this book.  I am a huge fan of the romance between Robin and Lady Marian.  This book just took everything to the next level.   I was so thrilled to see such a strong female character come out in this story.    I recommend Scarlet to anyone who wants an author who understands the time period and gives it a new fresh voice without destroying the story.  I will say that I hope the author writes more of Scarlets story because I think she has a lot left to say and many more adventures with Robin to come.. I will be buying this book as soon as it comes out for my shelves!

 

4 thoughts on “Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen

  1. Ok, I’m in love. I have to have it. I’d thank you for telling me about it, but now I’m forced to buy another book that I really shouldn’t be buying ;P

      • True and I really am excited about Scarlet. Especially knowing that we have the same tastes. I know I can trust your opinion, which is awesome. Thanks for putting my banners on your blog. They look great! I also see that you’ve posted my book button. How exciting!!!! I can’t wait until I get the final cover for Exaulta and post that (don’t worry, your button will automatically update to the new version once it’s up.). It’s going to be so awesome seeing my book in the hands of awesome bloggers like you. lol Now I’m all giddy just thinking about it. Hey, didn’t you say that you have a Twitter account? I couldn’t find a link on here or on your YouTube channel and I’d like to follow you.

Leave a Reply

