Hades (Olympians)by George O’Connor

Hades (Olympians)

Paperback
80 pages
Expected publication:
January 31st 2012
by First Second
Volume 4 of the highly acclaimed Olympians series!

 

Hades: Lord of the Dead tells the story of the great God of the Underworld and one of the most famous of all Greek myths: Hades’ abduction of Persephone and her mother’s revenge. Be prepared to see a new side of Persephone in this dynamic adaptation of the story of the creation of the seasons.

 

In Olympians, O’Connor draws from primary documents to reconstruct and retell classic Greek myths. But these stories aren’t sedate, scholarly works. They’re action-packed, fast-paced, high-drama adventures with monsters, romance, and not a few huge explosions. O’Connor’s vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to undeniable life in a perfect fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology.

 

 I am a huge fan of greek mythology.  I also am an art lover in pretty much all its forms.  So when I received this book from Netgalley I was extremely excited.    I downloaded it right away so that I could read it that day.   I have to say I was not disappointed.   My daughter also read it because she is a huge fan of the whole Persephone story and she loved this one and wants me to buy her a copy once it hits the stores. 

I enjoyed the authors unique take on the story.  The art was really good but at times I felt that the character look a little unrealistic.   Over all this was a very well done graphic novel and one that I will soon be displaying in my home  once it is released.

Leave a Reply

