The Mephisto Covenant (The Mephisto Covenant #1) by Trinity Faegen

The Mephisto Covenant (The Mephisto Covenant, #1)

Hardcover
 439 pages
Published
September 27th 2011
by EgmontUSA
primary language
English
“A timeless love story with unique mythology that captivates the imagination. I loved it.”—P.C. Cast, #1 New York Times best-selling author of the House of Night series

“Trinity Faegen bursts onto the young adult scene with an exciting debut novel told in a fresh voice, and with a unique spin on a timeless tale.”—#1 New York Times best-selling author Sherrilyn Kenyon

“This is a fantastic book with everything a paranormal fan craves, from action to suspense to an absolutely sizzling romance. Fans of P.C. Cast and Lauren Kate will not regret buying this book. Faegen is an author to look out for!”—Romantic Times

Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—she is an Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.

A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.

With the threat of Eryx always looming, Jax knows he has to keep Sasha safe and win her over.  But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?

I first received a copy of this on Netgalley and I was enjoying it throughly when my Nook broke.   I was on vacation and was so eager to finish the book that I made my husband take me to a local book store so I could get a physical copy.    I must tell you that the cover is even more gorgeous in person.   I was also thrilled to see that the book was longer than the Netgalley version.  The galley version is half the size of the physical copy.  I was over half way through my galley but when I bought the book I was so surprised by the length that I started all over again.   I love this version even better than the galley  because there is a lot more content and even more action. 
I have read a lot of mixed reviews on this book.  I have to say I never found this book to be dull or unbelievable but then again I come from a very religious back ground.  So I could relate a lot of this book with my childhood beliefs.   I also love the creative take on Adam and his supposed first wife.  I know that a lot of authors have used the Adam having a first wife to explain magic and several other fantastical events.  Although I do not believe that I have read any thing like this before.  I found it to be very creative and extremely intriguing.  I could not put this book down.  I found myself reading it at every spare moment that I could find. 
I will say there were only a few negative things I have to say about this book.  First is that Sasha was not alway true to her character.  I felt that at times she seemed to be a different person altogether and I don’t believe that it had anything to do with the changes going on in her.   At times her inability to make a decisions got on my nerves but over all I did enjoy her character. 
I was also sad that the author didn’t do something different with Chris’s character.  I felt it was a little predictable to have thing play out the way they did for him.   I just felt that he had much more to offer than what she ended up doing  with his character.  Also, just as with Chris the author seem to leave Sasha with only one choice in the end.   Which kind of made her choice for her instead of really making it a difficult decision. 
Over all I thought the book was amazing and I am thrilled that this is just the first in a series of what I suspect will be an amazing ride.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s