Stupid Cupid (Stupid Cupid #1) by Rhonda Stapleton

Stupid Cupid (Stupid Cupid, #1)

Paperback
272 pages
 Published
December 22nd 2009
by Simon Pulse
Original title
Stupid Cupid

Felicity Walker believes in true love. That’s why she applies for a gig at the matchmaking company Cupid’s Hollow. But when Felicity gets the job, she learns that she isn’t just a matchmaker…she’s a cupid! (There’s more than one of them, you know.)

Armed with a hot pink, tricked-out PDA infused with the latest in cupid magic (love arrows shot through email), Felicity works to meet her quota of successful matches. But when she bends the rules of cupidity by matching her best friend Maya with three different boys at once, disaster strikes. Felicity needs to come up with a plan to set it all right, pronto, before she gets fired?and before Maya ends up with her heart split in three.

 

I normally would have passed on this type of book just by looking at the cover because I would have thought it to be realistic fiction and I am not all that into that type of genre.  Not because this cover isn’t attractive but it would not have normally appealed to me because it looks like one of those girly realistic love stories.  I am so glad that I went to a book signing and heard Rhonda talk about this book.  Rhonda is extremely funny in person and I just knew if a tenth of her personality came out in these books they would be fantastic.  After reading this book I may have to reevaluate what type of books that I pick up and what I push aside just because of what a treasure this book is. 

I normally like more of the supernatural books but I also love comedy so this book really hit home with me.  I am a huge fan of Janet Evanovich’s  Stephanie Plum series and I can honestly say that this book gave me the same joy that I get from reading Janet’s books.  Felicity is a fun, quirky and just a normal teenage girl.  She has an awesome job that might not always be as awesome as she first thought.  There are just so many funny moments in this book.  I honestly say that this was one of the funniest books I have read this year.   I am looking forward to reading more of this series and seeing if someone will play cupid for Felicity.

Leave a Reply

