Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson

Prom

Paperback
215 pages
Published
February 2nd 2006
by Puffin

Ashley Hannigan’s plans for the future don’t include the senior prom; they include things like squeaking through to graduate, moving out of her parents’ crowded house and into a Philadelphia apartment with her high school dropout boyfriend. Those plans change when Miss Crane, the math teacher, embezzles all the prom money. Before she can say, “Too weird,” Ashley Hannigan’s plans for the future don’t include the senior prom; they include things like squeaking through to graduate, moving out of her parents’ crowded house and into a Philadelphia apartment with her high school dropout boyfriend. Those plans change when Miss Crane, the math teacher, embezzles all the prom money. Before she can say, “Too weird,” Ashley finds herself choreographing a school gala that changes everything. Tender; funny; perceptive.

I listened to this book for my September reads.  I will say if I had not listened to it I probably would not have finished this particular novel.  I am not a big fan of this type of fiction.  I also couldn’t connect to the characters.  I did find myself irritated with several of the girls in this book.  Just because most seemed not to want much out of life and I think since it hit so close to my own experiences growing up it kind of put me off.  I did like the ending and found that I was glad that I listened to it.   Which, I more than likely  would have set it aside halfway through if I had been reading it.  I saw a lot of growth by the end of this book.  I felt that the girls had redeemed themselves by the end.  So if you’re a fan of realistic fiction then this book is for you.  I thought it was alright but definitely not one of my favorite genres so, I don’t think my review is as objective as some elses who likes this type of fiction.

Leave a Reply

