Entwined by Heather Dixon

Entwined

Hardcover
480 pages
Published
March 29th 2011
by Greenwillow Books
(first published March 10th 2011)

Azalea is trapped. Just when she should feel that everything is before her . . . beautiful gowns, dashing suitors, balls filled with dancing . . . it’s taken away. All of it.

The Keeper understands. He’s trapped, too, held for centuries within the walls of the palace. And so he extends an invitation.

Every night, Azalea and her eleven sisters may step through the enchanted passage in their room to dance in his silver forest.

But there is a cost.

The Keeper likes to keepthings.

Azalea may not realize how tangled she is in his web until it is too late.

I am a huge fan of fairytale re-tellings.  So when I heard that Heather Dixon and written her version of the 12 dancing princesses I just had to read the book.  I found the book to be a beautifully written dark fairy tale.  I loved how she put a dark twist to this tale and still was able to keep a whimsical appeal to the book.  

I loved all the characters of this book but the one that I have to say I loved the most was Bramble.  She is not the main character in this story  but still a very  fun character all the same.   I loved her temper and her sarcastic comments.  At one point in the book she kind of leads a revolt and gets her younger sisters to throw potatoes at a young man.  I won’t say why because that would be a bit of  a spoiler.   I also, found the King to be a compelling character.  I felt he was very misunderstood by his daughters.  I felt that the girls should have realized how grief-stricken he was but then I guess that would a have taken something away from the story.   Then there is Keeper who to me was very dark and mysterious character that just made this book so much more intriguing.  

I also loved all the side romances going on the book,  like the one between Azalea and Mr. Bradford.  Theirs was a slow and sometimes confusing romance but it was alway so sweet.   Some of the relationships you just knew were going to happen and others were a complete and utter shock.  But I would have to say the most endearing relationship was the one that the King and Queen had.   Theirs was a true understand of each other and a deep love that survived even death.

I think anyone who likes fairy tales and romance would really enjoy this book!!!

Leave a Reply

