Halo (Halo #1) by Alexandra Adornetto

Halo (Halo, #1)

Hardcover
496 pages
Published
August 31st 2010
by Feiwel & Friends

Three angels – Gabriel, the warrior ; Ivy, the healer ; and Bethany, the youngest and most human – are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness. They must work hard to conceal their luminous glow, superhuman powers, and, most dangerous of all, their wings, all the while avoiding all human attachments.
Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and neither of them is able to resist the attraction between them. Gabriel and Ivy do everything in their power to intervene, but the bond between Xavier and Bethany seems too strong.
The angel’s mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?

I just want to say for a girl of 18 to write like this is amazing.  I have read books by authors that have been writing for decades and can’t even hold a candle to this book.  I personal have read very mixed reviews on this book but I found it to be a fantastic beginning to a new series.

This is going to be my rant review of sorts because I read other reviews and felt they were just so harsh and unfair…

Bethany is a little clueless in her actions with humans.  Well, first off she has never been a human before and she is just a child even in heaven eyes.  I found it hard to believe that people didn’t like her or the other characters in this book.  Yes, she made several mistakes but she is just a teenager.  I don’t understand people’s views on the whole religious aspect of the book.  This is a book about angels so there has to be GOD in it and religious undertones.  As far as Xavier goes, ok I did get mad at him when he wouldn’t listen to Bethany explain what happened.  Although, I didn’t feel that it was Twilightish and I don’t understand why people want to compare every book to either Twilight or the Hungry Games.  Just about every girl out there has had a little bit of a Bella moment over a boy.  So, it is unfair to me that an author can’t write their own teen girl melt down without it being compared to Twilight.  Then we come to Gabriel and Ivy and the way the keep their distance from the humans and how they can’t see how Bethany is going feel about Xavier.  Also, angels are supposed to see everything.  Hello if they knew it there wouldn’t be much of a story would there.

I just want to say I loved this book.  I thought that it was truly well written and I loved all of the characters.  I cant wait to read Hades when I get.   Let me know how you feel about the book and if you feel as I do or if you feel different.

Leave a Reply

