Misfit by Jon Skovron

Misfit

Hardcover
384 pages
Published
August 1st 2011
by Amulet Books

Jael has always felt like a freak. She’s never kissed a boy, she never knew her mom, and her dad’s always been superstrict—but that’s probably because her mom was a demon, which makes Jael half demon and most definitely not a normal sophomore girl. On her sixteenth birthday, a mysterious present unlocks her family’s dangerous history and Jael’s untapped potential. What was merely an embarrassing secret before becomes a terrifying reality. Jael must learn to master her demon side in order to take on a vindictive Duke of Hell while also dealing with a twisted priest, best-friend drama, and a spacey blond skater boy who may have hidden depths.

Author Jon Skovron takes on the dark side of human nature with his signature funny, heartfelt prose.

I know most of my family and friends  would not approve of the subject matter in this book.  I personally don’t find this to be a problem because over half the bible is about demons, hell and the various religions around the world.  I find this book to be a different take on an old theme which is good versus evil.

I thought that Jael was a great female heroine,  with an amazing back ground.  I liked how this book points out how you can’t pick your family so you just have to be able to do the best with what you have been given.  Jael may have just wanted to be a normal mortal girl but that isn’t what she is so she has to figure out what she is going to do with her life and her powers.  She also has to figure out what she is going to do about the demon that killed her mother and is now trying to kill her.  There is also the fact that she needs to figure out how to protect her friends and family from the demon and his minions.

I loved how this book was a mix of religion and mythology.  I found that I was so intrigued by it that I was telling all my friends about how interesting this book is.  I didn’t even care that my friend were speechless when I told them that it was about demons because this book is just so much more than that.  I so suggest that people check this book out because it is just a really good read.
Leave a Reply

