Delirium (Delirium #1) by Lauren Oliver

Delirium (Delirium, #1)

Hardcover
441 pages
Published
February 1st 2011
by HarperTeen
series
Before scientists found the cure, people thought love was a good thing. They didn’t understand that once love — the deliria — blooms in your blood, there is no escaping its hold. Things are different now. Scientists are able to eradicate love, and the governments demands that all citizens receive the cure upon turning eighteen. Lena Holoway has always looked forward to the day when she’ll be cured. A life without love is a life without pain: safe, measured, predictable, and happy.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena does the unthinkable: She falls in love.

At first the thought of love as a disease was to far-fetched to me and I wasn’t in that big of a hurry to read this book.  Then I saw a review on you tube about the book and it sparked my interest so I went and bought.  I still wasn’t sure if I was going to read it now or wait because of my piles of books still needing to be read.  Then my daughter read it and couldn’t stop raving about it.  Yet, I was still on the fence about it and then my library got it on audio.   Which was great for me because I needed something new to listen to while going out-of-town.  I am so glad I found this on audio, because it could have been months before I finally got to this book and that would have been a shame.
Disease is something that scares everyone no matter who you are.  With love being the disease it is even worse because there is no way of not being born with it or medication that can fix it.  As Lena knows all to well, because her mother had the disease and died from it.  She has alway felt like she was a ticking time bomb and all she wants to do is be normal and have the disease cut out of her body.  The closer she gets to her cure date the more crazy her best friend Hannah gets.  Hannah starts acting out by saying and doing things that could possible get her in trouble.  Then there is a boy named Alex that makes her body react in weird ways and she is desperate to keep herself safe until she can get the cure. 
Ok , I love the way this story evolves between the characters and how Lena begins to finally question the way things are done and the things that she has always believed.  There is just so much that is right about this book that the few things that might not make sense don’t really matter.  The only thing that I found kind of out-of-place was Hannah’s decision at the end because I felt that given all she had done prior to their last run together she would have chosen to go.  This is just a really good book with a really well conceived and thought out plot.
Leave a Reply

