Under His Spell (My Boyfriend Is a Monster) by Marie P. Croall, Hyeondo Park

Under His Spell (My Boyfriend Is a Monster)

Library Binding
128 pages
Published
April 1st 2011
by Graphic Universe

Bethany Farmer’s life is a boring high school routine, and she likes it that way. Soccer, coffee, homework, more coffee, and no goofy romance. That is, until foreign exchange student Allein Atwood shows up in her Midwestern town, and her life turns epically weird. Allein has unearthly good looks, princely politeness, and a bunch of goofy, romantic pick-up lines. But is his country really so foreign that they don’t know anything about soccer? Or coffee?

To her horror, Bethany is swept off her feet by Allein’s spellbinding ways–and then knocked flat by savage creatures set loose into suburbia to hunt Allein down. Suddenly Bethany’s normal town is twisted upside down, and nothing is what it seems. Can Bethany rescue her prince of a boyfriend and keep them both alive long enough to go on a second date?

I have to say that I am reviewing this book for Net Galley.  I am a big fan of graphic novels as most of the people who know me or read my blog already know.  I hardly ever find one that I don’t like but this one was not a favorite of mine.  I really liked the last one because the are work was phenomenal, but this one lacked the artistic talent that the other one had.   In my opinion graphic novels need to have awesome art in order to make the story come to life.  Graphic novels lack the content that regular novels have so you need the art work to help bring the story to life.  This graphic novel has a good story line but the artwork takes away from this story.  The story line had potential and could have been so much better had the artwork been better.  I have to agree with many of the other reviewers and say that this one just fell flat for me.   I am just disappointed because this had such potential to be an awesome addition to this series because lets face it, the Fae are magical and the art should have been magical..

Leave a Reply

