Pride/Prejudice: A Novel of Mr. Darcy, Elizabeth Bennet, and Their Other Loves by Ann Herendeen

Pride/Prejudice: A Novel of Mr. Darcy, Elizabeth Bennet, and Their Other Loves

Paperback
432 pages
Published
January 13th 2010
by HarperCollins Canada / Fiction
literary awards
Jane Austen’s most popular novel has enthralled generations of readers, as proud Mr. Darcy meets his match in witty and prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet. But only now can the hidden story be told, of the two parallel loves that complicate this ideal romance: Darcy’s controlling affection for the gentleman-like Charles Bingley; and the sympathetic intimacy between Elizabeth and her more practical friend, Charlotte Lucas. Written in a comparable ‘bright and sparkling’ style, “Pride/Prejudice” ‘fills the gaps’ in Austen’s story, daring to imagine the full truth suggested by the original. What is Darcy’s real motivation for preventing Bingley’s marriage to Elizabeth’s beautiful and virtuous sister Jane? How can Darcy reconcile his desire for Elizabeth with his determination to save his friend from a similar entanglement? And what is the disturbing history behind Darcy’s tortured relationship with his foster brother, George Wickham? “Pride/Prejudice” brings to light all the buried secrets, weaving a tale of intertwined passions that must be resolved through honesty and forgiveness, the humbling of pride and freedom from prejudice.
 I am a huge P&P addict so much so, that I will read just about any thing out there.  I was a little shocked to find out that this one was not what I  had originally thought it was about.   Although  once I started it I found it to be very intriguing.  I have to say that I have nothing against this type of content.  I am all for freedom of expression and art.  To me love is love no matter the form as long as it is between two consenting adults.  With that being said, I will say that I found this book to be a little out there.
To me the relationship between Wickham and Darcy was way off base, but Darcy and Bingley I could see some what.  The fact that Jane would be so understanding to the relationship didn’t surprise me.  Although Elisabeth’s reactions to me were out of character.  Also, the reaction she has toward her daughter after the way her mother treated her was also out in left field.  I didn’t love this book but I can’t say that I was able to put it down either.  So I am kind of on the fence about this one.  
I would recommend this book to any one who likes stories of same-sex couples and anyone who loves P&P and doesn’t mind this type of content.  I found that as I was reading it  I wasn’t focused on the sex aspect of the book but more of the complex minds of the characters.
Leave a Reply

