Blood (Mercian Trilogy #1) by K.J. Wignall

BloodHardcover

336 pages

Expected publication:

September 27th 2011
by EgmontUSA
series
I do not remember being bitten. I wish I did, for then I would know the creature who did this to me and I would have a purpose, to track him down and repay him for the poisoned gift he gave me. Back in the Thirteenth Century, Will was destined to be Earl of Mercia, although he never lived to inherit his title. In the centuries that follow, Will has led a lonely life, learning to deal with whatever the present day throws at him, always searching for answers but never finding any. Until this time, when he awakens after a 20-year-slumber, hungry for the blood that sustains his undeath, when it appears that he is finally getting a glimpse at why he exists. He does indeed have a destiny, and an enemy, but revealing that fate will be a matter of trust…
I liked how this was not just another vampire novel.  This book has a classic feel to it more like your old vampire novels.  In this book the main character was changed in the 12th century and left to fend for himself.  He did not know what had made him or why he was made because through the centuries he never met anyone like him.  His life was nothing but keeping a low profile so that he was never discovered.  Then everything changes when he wakes from one of his long hibernation and feeds on a homeless guy who goes into a trance and say weird things to him.   Also, this guy has a notebook with things written about him that he couldn’t possibly know and a girl, a special destiny and an enemy.  That starts him on a journey to finally finding out about his past and why he is what he is.
I found this book to be very creative and love the element of mystery in the book.  I am not a fan of mystery at all, but the mystery just adds to the story and is not the entire story.  I love how he wants to restore his family honor because of the curse placed on him.   This book has me guessing on why he was chosen to live this life and is Eloise his soul mate or is she something bigger.  I have a few theory’s but I will have to wait until the next book to find out.  Also, I  want to know what the spirits really want with him because I don’t think they are just trying to guide them or keep them from harm.
I am very happy that the author is making this a trilogy because this story has so much potential to be of epic proportion that one book would not do it justice.  This book has so many different angles to explore that it would have been a shame to tie it up in just one book.   So, I am looking forward to reading more and seeing where the author plans to take us on this journey. 
Leave a Reply

