Jekel Loves Hyde by Beth Fantaskey

Jekel Loves Hyde

 

Hardcover, 282 pages

Published May 3rd 2010

by Harcourt Children’s Books

 

 

 

Jill Jekel has always obeyed her parents rules;especially the one about never opening the mysterious, old box in her father’s office. But when her dad is murdered, and her college savings disappear, she’s tempted to peek inside, as the contents might be the key to a lucrative chemistry scholarship.
To improve her odds, Jill enlists the help of gorgeous, brooding Tristen Hyde, who has his own dark secrets locked away. As the team of Jekel and Hyde, they recreate experiments based on the classic novel, hoping not only to win a prize, but to save Tristen’s sanity. Maybe his life. But Jill’s accidental taste of a formula unleashes her darkest nature and compels her to risk everything, even Tristen’s love just for the thrill of being . . . bad.

 First off, I have to say that Fantaskey is a fantastic writer not only for this novel but also, for her first’s debut novel Jessica’s Guide to Dating on the Dark Side. It is definitely in my favorites and not just because it has my name in the title! That is why I can’t believe I waited so long to read this one.

I love how  Fantaskey takes well-known stories and puts her own unique twists to them. First off having a character such as the quite and studious Jill Jekel  pair up with the very moody and handsome fellow students Tristen Hyde to win a scholarship is nothing more than pure genius. The fact that she kept the dark side of the story and wove a high school chemistry class, genius students and incorporated the Hyde family legacy all in one made this not only a remarkable but very believable story.

I will say I wasn’t feeling the connection in the story until I read this “I knew that most people would consider us too young to talk about lifelong commitments or marriage, but I couldn’t imagine taking her to bed without that promise. Even if it meant never being with her, I didn’t want to have one desperate, hurried, hidden night. I wanted to put a ring on her finger. I wanted a future—or nothing. I knew, in her heart, that she would want that, too” after Tristen thought that in the book I was sold and nothing but a pile of mush from there on. I mean how may of us would love for the person we cared about to respect us enough to have those thoughts and feelings about us?

Beth Fantaskey did a fantastic job with this book and I personally can wait to see what she has in store for us next time!!!!

Leave a Reply

