Darkest Mercy by Melissa Marr

Darkest Mercy (Wicked Lovely, #5)

Hardcover, 327 pages

Published February 22nd 2011 by

HarperCollins(first published 2010)

Darkest Mercy (Wicked Lovely, #5)

series Wicked Lovely #5

The Summer King is missing; the Dark Court is bleeding; and a stranger walks the streets of Huntsdale, his presence signifying the deaths of powerful fey.

Aislinn tends to the Summer Court, searching for her absent king and yearning for Seth. Torn between his new queen and his old love, Keenan works from afar to strengthen his court against the coming war. Donia longs for fiery passion even as she coolly readies the Winter Court for battle. And Seth, sworn brother of the Dark King and heir to the High Queen, is about to make a mistake that could cost his life.

Love, despair, and betrayal ignite the Faery Courts, and in the final conflict, some will win . . . and some will lose everything. The thrilling conclusion to Melissa Marr’s New York Times bestselling Wicked Lovely series will leave readers breathless.

 I have to say what a thrilling way to end a series. I am very sad to see it end, but the ride was worth the wait. Every book in this series made you crave the next and you could hardly wait until for the next one to be released. I am sad that not everyone got a happy ending and there were several character deaths.  although  without the deaths the book wouldn’t have been as dramatic and then the need to keep reading wouldn’t have been so dire.

Marr did such a great  job of  getting these books to flow into each other and not seeming forced. I hate when you read a sequel and the author introduces a bunch of different characters that seem to just be hanging out with no real purpose or they have so many characters that you can’t or don’t feel a connection with. Marrs characters made you feel like you knew them and you wanted the best for them, even the secondary characters. I can’t even tell you how I felt when something bad happen to one of them it was so devastating to that at times I would almost start to cry, that is how I knew that these books had something special and I wanted to be apart of it until the very end.

Again, I am very sad to see it end but I loved it and I will keep these books on my shelf to revisit from time to time. I hope that other people will take this epic journey and discover how wonderful Melissa Marrs’  writing is. I dare you to try not to fall in love with these characters and this story as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

